Tips for Organizing Your Jewelry

Today, I want to share with you ways to organize your jewelry. As a professional stylist and home organizer, I help my clients organize their homes and closets with easy organizational tips and decorating ideas! I also help find ways to organize jewelry with some DIY ideas.

So today is is all about ways to effectively organize your jewelry. If you are anything like me, you have a lot of accessories because you need something for every occasion! So when it comes to my jewelry, I want to keep them easily accessible and easy to grab as I am running out the door. My whole philosophy about organizing is that it should be an easy system to maintain, so I hope that these 4 tips for organizing jewelry help you stay organized!

  • Jewelry Box

Invest in a fantastic jewelry box. Not only does a jewelry box help keep you organized, but it helped protect your glorious jewelry. I always thought that jewelry boxes were only for my precious jewels. So I decided to create all sorts of other ways to store my jewelry. Don’t you hate when all your necklaces end up tangled up? Or your earrings misplaced? Most jewelry boxes come with little drawers so you can organize your jewels. My suggestion is to find a box that will work with all of the jewels you own. I knew I have a lot of earrings, so I needed a box that had lots of space for earrings. This way, I know I will keep things organized because everything has its own place, instead of trying to cram everything into one small space.

  • Dollar Store Boxes and Picture Frames

For my bracelets and chucky necklaces, I use some pretty boxes I purchased at the Dollar Store. They not only hold and protect my beauties from dust and air.For my earrings, I took a picture frame and glued a piece of place mat that has some holes. It’s easy to make and it looks super on my bureau. In this picture, I hung some necklaces on each side, and gave the frame some height with a couple of books(I wrote).20150613_125546

 

  • Color and Style-Coded

I keep my jewelry sorted based on color and style so I know what I have and can find something to pair with an outfit quickly. By keeping things color-coded, I am also able to see what colors or styles I might need to invest in. For example, when I am shopping and find an adorable necklace, I can visualize my jewelry box and picture if I have something similar. If I can’t visualize it, then I know I probably don’t have it! I also color-code my earrings and bracelets. It helps me keep my jewelry organized so I can find things quickly and easily!

  • Purge!

The biggest mistake people make when it comes to jewelry is holding onto pieces that are out of style, broken or have missing pieces. Go through all of your jewelry frequently to see if you are missing an earring or have a broken clasp on a necklace. If you don’t want to pay to get it repaired, then you need to purge it. Stop letting it take up precious space among the gorgeous jewelry that you wear!

 

So there you have it! Invest in a fantastic jewelry box, keep your jewelry color-coded and categorized, and purge jewelry frequently, will help keep all of your jewelry organized! Thanks so much for having me share some tips for organizing your jewelry!

Leave a Reply

